Boisterous Beauty

When someone tells me they have good news and bad news for me then ask which I prefer to hear first, I always say the bad news. Get the bitter over with to move onto the sweet. I like to focus on the positives. But I am sure all of you know the sadness of losing your tomatos to those pesky buggers. I lost this luscious one to a bunch of green caterpillars.

Those Jerks.

But on the bright note here are some thriving characters in our Green Wonderland…

I think you know what this is!

Deck the Halls with Bells of … Peppers!

Fa la la la la…

Pumpkins a bloomin’

Cantaloupe too!

I hope all your gardens are prosperous and joy-giving too!

15 thoughts on “Boisterous Beauty

  1. putneyfarm says:

    Wow peppers and tomatoes already, very nice…we are jealous.

  2. hannahshome says:

    Wow! we are still looking at fairly small plants at the moment – nowhere near any crops! Looks like you are going to be feasting on veg!

  3. oceannah says:

    Well you can always cut off the chewed upon part…not fun to have leftovers from the many legged ones though, I understand. Your peppers look terrific!!! You’re way ahead of us. We hope to get the corn in today if the dadgum rains would stop.
    *anna

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog. What I personally am at war with is the birds who LOVE to eat my lettuce and leafy greens and the squirrels who dig things or worse take bites out of the tomatoes! I look forward to seeing how your garden makes out.

    • im lucky to live in a house with 4 dogs and an inside/outside cat. the dogs chase everything that moves. my culprits are the creepy crawlies. i just dont want to use chemicals to get rid of them. since most of the garden is next to the koi pond.

  5. kimkasch says:

    I’ve learned to live with some bugs – and not just in the garden :) but it’s better than trying to kill them off ;) Plus, I garden organically, I don’t even try to rid my yard of snails – I think of them as my garden buddies. And my flowers are beautiful, my veggies delicious and the weeds . . . well that’s another subject entirely :) Happy gardening! Now, go get dirty :D

  6. I am pretty jealous that you already have peppers and tomatoes! That’s wonderful! Too bad about the green caterpillar, though. I loved the picture of the pumpkin flowers! Gorgeous!

  7. shewhispers says:

    I lost a lot of leaves to a fat green caterpillar before I found him. But so far only one tomato, which I believe was pecked on by birds. I gave it to the rooster – who was quite happy about his gift, and brought in the other tomatoes starting to show pink, so they ripened in the kitchen.

  8. Mare F says:

    I’m not even close to getting my tomatoes and peppers, but I’m looking forward to them for my Sunday morning frittattas later in the summer.

  9. Becky says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog. We have a small garden but more than bugs we are fighting the sun and the heat. :) That’s gardening in AZ. But you might be somewhere warm too since you are getting a good crop already. Looking forward to reading more.

  10. belocchio says:

    The thing we gardeners learn, if we learn anything at all, is there is no negotiating with your garden. Or.. with the rabbits who treat it as their very own salad bar. Virginia

  11. elenawill says:

    Your garden will still provide a bounty of veggies. The bugs should not ruin everything.

Leave a Reply

